Posted by: Patrice Fitzgerald | March 6, 2009

Open your wallets

I’m not starving, and I’ve got a (beautiful) roof over my head.  I decided to spend some money, to do my little bit to move the economy along.  I suggest you think about doing the same.

I’m subscribing to our local paper on the weekends, and the NYTimes on Sunday (though I have some resistance to all that paper and will naturally make sure that it’s recycled).  I believe in newspapers and think they are valuable.  I’m ordering the New Yorker again, which I’ve enjoyed off and on for years.  I’m subscribing to Goodspeed Opera House’s season of musicals. I’m going to try to take in more of the culture around me — some Hartford Symphony concerts, and finally, something in New Haven.  There is so much to see in New Haven!

I’ve been going to the library, which is fabulous, but I just bought two new hardcovers, because I am a writer and want to support other writers by buying their books when I can.

Some people are just hanging on; the mortgage/rent and food are taking every penny they have.  But if you’re not one of them, and you have a little to spare, think about spending some of it.  Things are cheap and getting cheaper.  Go out to dinner once in a while to keep your local restaurant in business.  Buy a new pair of jeans so that the store won’t have to let one more employee go.

Do what you can.

“Money is like manure, of very little use except it be spread.”  Originally by Francis Bacon, this line is paraphrased in “Hello Dolly” — “Money is like manure. It’s not worth a thing unless it’s spread about, encouraging young things to grow.”

If you can afford it, spread some of yours around.

Leave a Reply

Categories

