Posted by: Patrice Fitzgerald | September 17, 2009

Go see District 9

I was so impressed with District 9.

My preference is to go into a movie with no preconceived notions, other than knowing it’s worth my time. I hate it when I know part of the plot, or if I’ve seen the trailer with all the funny bits already. That spoils the film for me.

So I went into this movie just having heard it was good, and original, and had quite a bit of violence — which I am all right with sitting through if the story is worthwhile. It is quite gritty, full of blood and guts in particular places, but nevertheless this movie is about something, and it discusses themes that I find universally important, about power, control, and the fear of the other.

I can’t tell you more than that, or I’ll spoil it! But I think you should go.

In my theater, there were a mix of young people and older folks, and I even saw one couple (my generation, more or less) leave early on. I think they found it too sci-fi. Once upon a time, I was deeply into sci-fi, and I still love it for the way it can present completely new worlds which make us see our own lives differently.

Also, with District 9, when you come home you can check out the awesome websites which carry the movie’s theme forward in fun ways. And I think the director and company are concocting a sequel as we speak.

If you’ve seen it, I’d love to hear what you think.

Responses

  1. i think i liked the ideas behind district9 better than the execution – i wasn’t as blown away by the movie as i was by, for example, V or any of the zombie movies… but it was a credible addition.

  2. annie: I didn’t see any of those others; part of what made this so arresting for me was perhaps that I tend to shy away from what I perceive to be teenage boy techno-fest movies. I expect them to be stupid and violent. (Of course, now that I have a teenage boy myself, I should have much greater respect for them, right?)

    Hubby and stepson tell me very good things about V.


Leave a Reply

Categories

