Posted by: Patrice Fitzgerald | September 21, 2009

Wanna sell books?

Authors who want to be read owe it to themselves to create a presence on the web that is both exciting and interactive. There are so many avenues for connectivity now that it is daunting… but amazing and wonderful at the same time.

Thad McIlroy recently posted “What Makes A Great Author Website” on his blog The Future of Publishing. It’s surprising how few people have managed to tap into the potential of the internets to attract (and keep) readers.  Or perhaps it’s not so surprising — since it’s an art in itself, and there’s no question that keeping up a site which serves a lot of readers takes a lot of time and effort.

Wonderful author websites that I’ve discovered and visit regularly include Susan Campbell’s Dating Jesus blog, M.J. Rose’s website, and Douglas Clegg’s website.  Of course, it shouldn’t be surprising that the latter two are on the advancing edge of the web as a promotional tool.  They created AuthorBuzz and literally wrote the book about getting the word out electronically.

We’ve all heard about how it’s not enough to write a good book.  An author has to get that book in the hands of readers in any way possible.  It wouldn’t be an exaggeration to say that the work you do on the web is as important as the work you do in putting words on paper in the first place.

No one’s going to do it for us, folks!

My little blog here is less than a year old, and I’m using it to learn about the tools.  As soon as I get a contract for LOOKING FOR MR. RIGHT.COM (sending prayers to the publishing gods) I am going to set up a new website and start blogging under that name, directing my energies specifically toward becoming an internet dating and relationship guru… because that’s what I’ll be selling.  Right now I’m practicing.

So, dear reader, do you know of a site that promotes an author well?


Responses

  1. There are no sites that promote authors well. That is an art of yesterday. Either you promote yourself these days, and that is expensive, tiring and fraught with missteps, or nobody will read what you write. The publishers are all in full retreat. Where and when this will end I have no idea. Did we meet at the meeting. I do not have your card.

    • We met briefly just after your keynote. I enjoyed it! You have such a wide background. And lots of fascinating stories to tell.

      Did you ever read the ancient Heinlein “Stranger in a Strange Land”? There was a cantankerous, creative old writer guy, by the name of Jubal Harshaw, who cranked out stories by the bellyful. The shorts on your blog remind me of him.

      I think I got your card but didn’t give you mine.

  2. A lot has changed in a year: I’d say that there are many sites that promote authors well, and the collective experience is fast developing into some standard practices. Certainly a quality blog like yours is at the core. Thanks for linking to my posting. I was glancing at it again, and think it holds up pretty well: I don’t see much else on this very important topic.


Leave a comment

Categories