Posted by: Patrice Fitzgerald | March 11, 2009

Title Search (legal pun – ha!)

I need to find a new title for my book.  Although titles are not copyrightable, I am concerned that LOOKING FOR MR. RIGHT.COM has been used for a published book by a man (kind of tongue-in-cheek), for a movie (that apparently didn’t go anywhere) and by a woman who self-published her memoir about dating online.  Imagine!  She even has a website.

So, please vote for your favorite new title, which only changes the beginning word:

WISHING FOR MR. RIGHT.COM; Adventures in Internet Dating (or How I Found True Love @ 50)

IN SEARCH OF MR. RIGHT.COM; etc. etc.

ANGLING FOR MR. RIGHT.COM; etc.

WRANGLING FOR MR. RIGHT.COM

FISHING FOR MR. RIGHT.COM

SURFING FOR MR. RIGHT.COM [get it?  That was Richard’s idea]

or make an even better suggestion.  

I lean toward Wrangling (because of the alliteration) or Surfing (because of the reference to the internets).

Thanks for your help!

P.S.  I am at almost 28,000 words.  Woot.


Responses

  1. I like “Googling Mr. Right.com”, but the nice folks at Google might take offence.

    Looking for Mr. Virtually Right.com?

  2. i dont think you should worry about what to call it. i think you should worry about finishing the book. and i’d keep my working title, if i were you. you can spend a lot of time fretting over silly things like this and the editor could come along and make you change it. so it’s far more important to write the story – or in your case – the proposal, than to worry about the title@!!!!!!!


Leave a comment

Categories